Board of Engineers and Surveyors

Today is: Monday, November 20, 2017

Frequently Asked Questions -- >
  Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions
Last updated: October 2014

About Applications
________________________________________

What are the deadlines for filing an application to take an exam?

For the pencil-and-paper exams (at present PE and PS), our deadlines are June 15 for the October exams and December 15 for the April exams. There are no application deadlines for the computer-based exams (EI (FE) and SI (FS)).
________________________________________

Will you accept my exam application after the deadline?

Yes, but not for the next scheduled exam; your application will be processed for the exam to be given AFTER the next scheduled exam.
________________________________________

How do I know if you received my application?

If you applied online, we will send an e-mail to the address provided on your application confirming receipt of your application. If you do not receive this e-mail within one week after submitting your application please contact our office.
For applications submitted by mail, you will receive either a post card acknowledgement, or a letter of instructions.
________________________________________

How can I find out the status of my application?

Contact Barbara Mills at 601-359-6165 OR email: barbaram@pepls.state.ms.us
Please call between the hours of 2:00 PM and 3:30 PM to allow us to process all the daily mail to insure that we give you the most current status of your application.
________________________________________
Is a credential evaluation from NCEES required for my foreign BS degree if I have a MS or PhD degree from a U.S. ABET program?

No, not if you ALSO have a Master’s or a PhD from an engineering curriculum that is ABET accredited at the undergraduate, or graduate, level.
________________________________________

Can I count engineering experience gained before obtaining my BS degree?

The Board may allow up to six months of co-op experience obtained through a completed college or university sponsored co-op program as part of a four year ABET accredited engineering program. The completion of this co-op program must be verified by the co-op office at the college or university directly to our office.
________________________________________

May I have the FE exam waived?

Regardless of advanced education or experience, or a waiver granted by another state, Mississippi law requires that BOTH the FE exam and the PE exam must be passed by all applicants for PE licensure, both initial applicants and comity applicants.
________________________________________

If I take an exam; when will I receive my exam results?

For pencil-and-paper exams, you will be notified by NCEES 6-8 weeks after the exam. For computer-based exams, usually NCEES notifies examinees within 2-3 weeks after the exam.
________________________________________

If I am applying with an NCEES record, what other documents am I required to submit for review?

You will need to submit our electronic application, the application fee, and arrange to have your NCEES Record sent directly to our office. Other documents may be required, if the NCEES Record doesn’t fulfill all of Mississippi’s requirements: two examples are at least one reference must be dated within the past 6 months and PE supervisor verification of experience for comity applicants with less than 10 years of licensure. Portions of the application are not required if you apply with the NCEES Record; just follow the instructions.________________________________________
How long will it take to process my application?

Standard processing time is 6-8 weeks once your application is COMPLETE.
________________________________________
________________________________________

If I am applying for PE Comity licensure am I required to verify all experience?

Comity applicants with less than 10 years of licensure must verify at least 4 full years of experience by PE supervisor verification(s). Comity applicants with 10 years or more of licensure may verify experience with PE associates and peers.
________________________________________

What is needed for an application to be considered COMPLETE?

You must read and thoroughly understand the forms and the accompanying instructions, before completing the forms. Do not leave any section blank; state “not applicable" or “none,” if that is the case. The staff will review all documents submitted and notify you of deficiencies or if additional information is requested by the board.
________________________________________

What do you mean by “Applications must be typewritten”?

Handwritten applications are not acceptable. Applications must be typed on a typewriter or using a computer, or submitted electronically via the internet.
Reference forms however may be handwritten, or partially hand-written.
________________________________________

Can I get a temporary license?

Mississippi law does not allow for temporary licensure, or “one-project-only licensure”.
________________________________________

What are the requirements for registration or licensure in Mississippi?

Please see the Board’s website under Licensure/Enrollment Requirements.
________________________________________

I passed the Fundamentals of Engineering examination while I was in college. When will I receive my certification as an Engineer Intern?

Upon graduation, please request an official copy of your college transcripts showing the engineering degree and date conferred, and arrange to have it sent directly to our office. Be sure we have your CURRENT mailing address by sending it to: barbaram@pepls.state.ms.us
________________________________________
What is the procedure to register for an exam?

Applicants must first submit an application and application fee to the Mississippi Board. Following approval by the Mississippi Board to sit for the exam, applicants must then register with the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) at www.ncees.org.
________________________________________

Without first applying to any state licensing board for “approval to test”, I registered for the FE (FS) exam with NCEES and I passed. Now I want to get enrolled as an Engineer Intern (Surveyor Intern). I am a Mississippi resident. May I get my Engineer Intern certificate (Surveyor Intern certificate) with the Mississippi Board?

No. The Mississippi Board grants EI (SI) enrollment only to those who first applied with the Mississippi Board for approval to take the exam. You should contact the licensing boards in Alabama, Arkansas or Louisiana and obtain your EI (SI) enrollment in one of those states. They do not require residency or “approval to test”, but they do have an education requirement you must meet.
In the future, if you are a Mississippi resident wanting to apply for PE (PS) licensure, it will not affect your PE (PS) application that your EI (SI) enrollment was issued by another state. You simply arrange for that other state to send verification of your EI (SI) status to the Mississippi Board.
________________________________________

I’m an Engineer Intern (EIT) in another jurisdiction, but I am now located in Mississippi. Do I need to apply for Engineer Intern certification in Mississippi?

No. Engineer Intern certification simply signifies that you have passed the national Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) examination. When you apply for the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) exam, there is a process to verify your Engineer Intern certification with the other jurisdiction. Mississippi does not have a process to transfer EI status from another state into Mississippi; it is not necessary.
________________________________________

How can I be listed as a Structural Engineer?

Mississippi doesn’t license by discipline, or areas of practice; the license title is Professional Engineer. The Code of Conduct requires the PE to restrict his practice to his area(s) of expertise which he obtained by either education, experience, or both.
________________________________________

How long do I have to pass the Structural Lateral and Vertical Forces exams?

You must pass both components, the 16 hours of lateral and vertical forces, within a five year window. You can take both components in one exam administration; however, you cannot be listed as a Structural Engineer until you pass both components.
________________________________________

I have moved since my last communication with the Board. How can I update my contact information?

Log in to your account in our system via our website. To change your personal information, click on General Information (over on the left side) and then click on “Edit Personal Detail”.
________________________________________

Continuing Education
Please return to the home page of our website at www.pepls.state.ms.us and click on Continuing Education (one of the choices on the left side). You will find the pertinent rule and the forms for reporting, if you are chosen for audit.
________________________________________

About Complaints
________________________________________

How do I file a complaint?

Complaints must be submitted on the Board’s complaint form. Please email: jphillips@pepls.state.ms.us to request that a complaint form be emailed or mailed to you. The Board will not act on anonymous complaints unless prima facie evidence is submitted – meaning evidence that “speaks for itself” and proves a violation.
________________________________________

What happens when I file a complaint?
When the Board receives your complaint, it is initially reviewed to determine if there is a possibility of imminent danger to the health, safety, and welfare of the public. If there is not, then it will be reviewed at the next scheduled Board meeting to determine if the issue is within the Board’s jurisdiction and whether or not the complaint is frivolous. If the complaint “passes these thresholds”, it is assigned to a Board member who forms an investigative committee with the Board attorney, investigator and Executive Director. Usually their first action is to send a copy of the complaint to the respondent, asking for his/her response to the complaint. At the conclusion of the investigation, you will be notified.
________________________________________
Can the Board help me recover money or property?

No, the Board cannot recover or order the refund of any money or property to which you may be entitled. You should consult your own attorney about a lawsuit in these matters. The Board’s jurisdiction/authority is over its licensees, and in some cases the Board will suspend or revoke the respondent’s license or issue a penalty against the respondent (the person against whom you are complaining).
________________________________________

Is disciplinary action available to the public?

Yes. You may request copies in accordance with the public records law. The Board also posts formal disciplinary actions on their website (www.pepls.state.ms.us) and in their newsletters.
________________________________________

Can I withdraw a complaint after filing it with the Board?

Complaints may not be withdrawn after filing it. Once a complaint is received in the Board office, it becomes the State’s case and only the Board can dispose of it. However, a request to withdraw a complaint may be considered by the Board in determining the appropriate action. Complainants are advised to bear these facts in mind before filing a complaint.
________________________________________